Hello from Manchester: I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi everyone,

I started city cycling when I moved to Manchester in September and would love to hear your thoughts for an article I'm writing. I should probably add that I'm a traineed journalist!

I've seen quite a few accidents between cyclists and motorists - buses and lorries in particular and have had a few near misses myself. I was wondering what you thought about road safety for cyclists in Manchester. I have to cycle up Oxford Road every day and share bus lanes with some pretty inconsiderate bus drivers but I'm never sure whether the drivers are to blame or the lack of cycle lanes. What do you guys think?
For example
- Do you think the roads in Manchester are suitable for cyclists and motorists?
- Do you think Manchester City Council does enough to enccourage people to cycle?
- Do we need more cycle lanes?
- Are accidents just part of the risk of city cycling or could more be done to prevent tragic accidents?
- Have you had any accidents or near misses?

Let me know what you think,

Best,

Charlotte

OP
OP
C

Charlotte Dobson

Sorry, I meant *trainee journalist*

colly

Re member eR
Hi everyone,
I started city cycling when I moved to Manchester in September and would love to hear your thoughts for an article I'm writing. I should probably add that I'm a traineed journalist!

I've seen quite a few accidents between cyclists and motorists - buses and lorries in particular and have had a few near misses myself. I was wondering what you thought about road safety for cyclists in Manchester. I have to cycle up Oxford Road every day and share bus lanes with some pretty inconsiderate bus drivers but I'm never sure whether the drivers are to blame or the lack of cycle lanes. What do you guys think?
For example
- Do you think Manchester City Council does enough to enccourage people to cycle?