Helmet cam

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rnscotch

Veteran
Ok i am a total newb when it comes to this so i have whittled my options down to two..

Archos 405 with a separate camera attached or should i go for the ATC3k which does not require a recording device as they record onto an SD card.

Experiences and/or comments please.

DJ

Formerly known as djtheglove
I have no experiance of casms at all, Why do you want one?

peanut

I bought a wireless DVR that uses a SD card .
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120287233423

You can set record to motion detect or continuous and it automatically continues to over-record when the card is full. Its easy to upload to your PC to view the video or still images and SD cards are so cheap I keep several to swop out for each use.
You can also plug it into any tv and view instantly

Its very small and light and can slip into a small pocket but you will need a battery pack to run it on a bike. The ebay sellers are very helpful and you can get phone advice and help with other products like suitable cameras. I believe they sell a hardwire version so you can wire your helmet camera into the DVR instead of wireless.

The only downside is you can't playback instantly unless you can plug it into a portable mini 5" tv but thats a lot to carry around with you and frankly why would you want to watch where you are cycling while you are cycling ;)

edit Just checked out the ATCK3 it looks like it is basically the same thing but includes a camera all built into a waterproof housing . Much better option I reckon

OP
OP
rnscotch

rnscotch

Veteran
Two reasons 1) For when i am off roading so i can capture the ride 2) Safety... a few weeks back i had a serious run in with a black cab if it was not for witnesses he would not have got collared.

What i should have also asked is how good are these cams at night and with low light?

OP
OP
rnscotch

rnscotch

Veteran