Help! Confused about chain & cassette

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

benjus

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit of a novice at bicycle maintenance but I'm keen to learn, so any advice is appreciated.

I have a Genesis Day 00 2007 bike. I've had it about 15 months and use it for commuting and general utility cycling in London. A couple of weeks ago the rear derailleur somehow got damaged and broke off. I spent most of the week sourcing a Shimano Sora 8 speed derailleur and the correct dropout. I fitted them and everything seemed fine for a few days.

Then a couple of days ago the chain broke. I guess it was down to my manhandling of the chain tool. So I went to Evans and asked for a new chain, and ended up with a Shimano HG40. Comparing it with the old chain showed that the old chain had stretched a fair amount.

I fitted the new chain, and now the chain is skipping over the some of the sprockets, making it almost unridable. However, while it appears to skip to some extent on most/all of the sprockets, it only does it badly on the middle range of the rear cassette. Looking at the sprockets some of them appear quite worn, especially around the middle range.

This led me to think that I would probably need a new cassette, so I started looking up the spec for the bike. I noticed that the chain specified was an HG50, so I'm wondering if I bought the wrong chain.

So, my questions are:
  • What is the difference between HG40 and HG50 chains?
  • Should I buy a new chain (HG50), a new cassette, or both?
  • Which cassette should I get? (the specs I've found just say Shimano Cassette 12-25 8sp)
Sorry for the long post... any help is much appreciated.