Help...desperately need motivation!!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

speccy1

Hopefully a few words of wisdom can help me out here (and I`m sorry if it`s in the wrong section - didn`t know which one to put this in:blush:, it does come under fitness though I suppose!!).

Basically, I`ve been covering 100 - 150 miles a week for the last six years. I went from being 15st in the beginning down to a 12st "racing snake", and this all became the norm. Some of my riding was offroad, but the vast majority is road stuff.

Now, the enthusiasm is going, along with the mileage count, and I`m putting weight back on:sad::biggrin:. I really want to be back where I was!! I still have the interest I always had, just no motivation

Anybody else in the same boat?? Is it just a "phase" or do I really need a good kick up the backside?!!

Advice much appreciated:smile::evil:

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Mix and Match........ Road and MTB - I'm a Roadie by trade (whatever) - but do a little dabble.... great...........

Im lucky off road routes are near to my home..............

My main training is commuting...it's dull, like dish water, but it actually does pay benefits at weekends/ leisure rides.............

Norm

speccy1 said:
I went from being 15st in the beginning down to a 12st "racing snake", and this all became the norm.
I can assure you that the Norm is no 12st racing snake. He is not even a 15st racing snake. ;)

Agree with Fossyant. Also, do you cycle with mates to add a little extra compulsion to go out? It's easy to backslide when it's just you, harder when you feel you're letting other people down - and the right company might make it more enjoyable again.

Have you considered entering an event / challenge or anything so that you have motivation other than weight control?

If it is mainly weight control that you are interested in, can you change the way you train to get the same benefit for less riding time?

ASC1951

Guru