Help with brakes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

richo

Hi all
I have a Carrera Hellcat 29 Mens Mountain Bike and the brake handles are not tight and i need help to tighten it and also tighten disc brakes as its not braking right. Any help please

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello richo and :welcome: .

Do you mean the brake levers are loose on the handlebars? If so a 4 or 5mm Allen key should sort it.

Are the brakes not working well? 'Tightening' is not the answer and could be due to any manner of things, worn or contaminated pads, hydraulic leak or other issues.
Not wishing to be rude but you don't seem to have a grasp of mechanical issues so your best option may be to return it to Halfords and let them sort it, especially if the bike is near new as it'll be covered by a warranty.

OP
OP
R

richo

Thats why ive adked for help because i am a beginner . The brakes are not working well and i need to tighten them but these disc brakes ive not tightened before

sevenfourate

Devotee of OCD
.....that's why IMHO it's better to let Halfords tackle it.

Your compassion, interest and concern was going so well until this point :laugh:

Some are good of course. Personally; i would take the bike to a Cycle shop where they only carry out cycle repairs and might (?) be slightly more expensive; but i think overall you're much more likely to achieve a successful repair first time.....

vickster

Legendary Member
Thats why ive adked for help because i am a beginner . The brakes are not working well and i need to tighten them but these disc brakes ive not tightened before

Is the bike new or well used? When were the brakes last adjusted or serviced or had new pads do you know?

Reactions: C R

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Your compassion, interest and concern was going so well until this point :laugh: