How Hilly is Your Commute? With 100% more graphics!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

El-Duderino

As a complete noob I have just found a cool little tool that allows you to show a graph of a cycle route.

Its this website- http://www.bikeroutetoaster.com/

click on course creator, enter your route and then click summary to show the elevation of your route!

These are the two options I have to commute by, hilly and shorter or flatter and longer! :evil:

Which would you choose?

snapshot20090322215748_1.jpg

snapshot20090322215719_1.jpg

Feel free to post your own!!

image.php

Number two because im a lazy old fart.

Most often I do my shorter commute (I can get a 5-10 min lie in) its quite hilly at the end (305ft in 3.1ml).
3377557552_197dc6c727.jpg

The last 2 weeks though I've getting up earlier and doing my alternate route, it does a similar level of climbing (374ft) but over 4.8mls most of which are an old railway path, limited to circa 2%
3376745299_bd6b2e113c.jpg

Here is mine. However, I go through the Clyde tunnel cycle path (it goes under the car tunnel, which goes under the river) and the elevation data doesn't reflect that (it just has the land elevation at that point. So it looks easier than it is.

Does anyone know of a mapping system that takes into acount the actual height of the road (or cycle path)?

Panter

Just call me Chris...
What a fantastic little tool, that is extremely usefull, thank you :becool:

With regards your question, I'd probably alternate them or just see how I felt on ther day.

How do you post pictures up of your graphs?

OP
OP
E

El-Duderino

Thanks for the replies guys, I usually go for the shorter but hillier route as it is a quiet little back road with less traffic than the other route.

Panter said:
How do you post pictures up of your graphs?

Just printscreen, save and then upload to an image hosting website!

jimboalee

Here's the lowdown.