how to tell a wheel buckled?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bad boy

Über Member
ASC1951 said:
That is the downside of not buying locally, so I hope you got plenty off. ;)

My wheels - handbuilt by my LBS - run true within about 1mm and generally wear out before they go out of true.

If it's only for your turbo, Cruiser, it doesn't matter whether it is out of true - just slacken the brakes off. If you want to true it up for the road, get yourself a spoke key and have a look at this. http://sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html
It isn't that difficult to get it close enough, although I find that even with a jig I can't get 100% straight + true + round. I can get straight + true, though.

+1 I have had documented problems with my rear wheel and had enough paying evens £15 to true each time so purchased a spoke key and learnt how to do it myself.

I wont pretend I'm an expert but I can true my wheels now although I find it very difficult to get lateral trueness to below 0.5mm by just using my frame with a tyre lever blue tacked to the frame !.

OP
OP
NorthernSky
02GF74 said:
1 mm is nothing but I would if it were my bike, take that out.

yes, out of true is what it sounds like.

google for how to true a wheel or do it yourself.

quickie:
mark the rim for all the spokes that are out, say touching the pen, so
you need to pull the rim away from the pen

undo by 1/4 turn all spokes on same side in between the marks and do up by 1/4 turn the spokes on the other side - will pull rim other.

repeat the marking and continue.

note that this should be done on regular spokes wheel i.e. with 32 spokes - on special wheel say 10 or so spokes, they are done up to much higher tension and it is easy to mess up.

so if i was to have a go myself, hold the pen so its rubbing the whole time, and mark at those points where it moves away from the pen. these spokes are then to be tightened?

bad boy

Über Member
cruiser31 said: