Hybrid bike needed ~£200 budget

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

oli_ramsay

I'm a bit of a noob and only just found out hybrid bikes existed :welcome:

I basically require a new bike getting me to and from work (mostly riding on pavement/road) and for the occasional bike ride (road). I just need something reliable that wont fall apart on me piece by piece (like my skanky apollo manic).

Would something like this: http://www.mailordercycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b0s18p8349 be OK?

Thanks in advance for your help :smile:

iendicott

The bike looks fine. Keep it well maintained and it should last.

I had a simular budget and I bought one of these Clicky fairly light and with an adjustable front suspension.

I cover 10 miles each day, had it for 3 months now and covered over 600 miles, this includes a 20 mile ride during the week with a friend and it has not missed a beat.

The only thing I would replace are the tyres which I have for Schwalbe Marathon Plus(Anti Puncture).

Basically I found the lighter the better but for this budget I found it hard to get a light bike though mine is not to bad.

Banjo

Fuelled with Jelly Babies
oli_ramsay said:
I'm a bit of a noob and only just found out hybrid bikes existed ;)

I basically require a new bike getting me to and from work (mostly riding on pavement/road) and for the occasional bike ride (road). I just need something reliable that wont fall apart on me piece by piece (like my skanky apollo manic).

Would something like this: http://www.mailordercycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b0s18p8349 be OK?

Thanks in advance for your help :smile:

The Claude Butler in your link looks like a good bike for that money.

PS welcome to the forum.

Hi Oli and welcome

IIf there is one close to you it may be an idea to look in a Cash Convertor or similar. A few months ago cycling plus as part of a cheap bke story picked up a Carrera Subway for under 100 in one. You'd also be able to check sizing.