I rebuilt my own wheel

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

chris__P

I needed to change the rims on my touring bike so rather than paying someone to do the job properly I decided to do it myself, with some loose guidance from someone who has done it before.

Much to my surprise I have managed to get the wheel built, and relatively true. I am worried however, about what might happen once I start to ride on it. I think I might have twisted some spokes, or got the tension wrong or something.

I'm going to central america soon and so I really dont want something bad to happen. If I have done a bad job, whats the worst that will happen?? Will it just come out of true, or is there a chance that spokes, or even the rim will break??

I'm very tempted to take the wheel apart and get it done properly by a bike mechanic before I go. On the other hand, I want to see how my own handiwork holds up.

Advice please,

Chris

tyred

Legendary Member
I'm no expert but I would definitely stress relieve it first and then check for trueness and even spoke tension. If it all checks out, it should be okay.

C

chillyuk

Well done for trying. If you were just using the wheel locally i would say try it and see how it does, but if you are going to Central America will you be really happy on your wheel. The fact you have raised the question on here would suggest that you possibly wouldn't be. Personally I would drop it into a LBS and explain what I have done and ask them to check it over.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Give it some test runs.

To stress relieve it, place wheel down on hard surface, axel to the floor, and firmly press the rim downwards (one hand on each side of rim) - you'll hear it ping. Repeat all round wheel, then flip over and do it again on other side. Now check for trueness, check spoke tensions are similar, re-true, and give it a bumpy test ride.

Should be fine !