Lands End 400 Miles!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jonnafun

Hey

I've just got a few questions that need answering. Basically I'm doing a 400 mile bike ride from Rochdale, Lancashire to Lands End, Cornwall, with two of my friends. The ride is taking place over 5 days, hopefully averaging 70-80 miles a day.

The first question is does this sound a bit too ambitious? I'm an average cycler, I can manage the odd hill here and there at a steady/steep-ish incline without stopping.

The second question is as there will be no support car following us down their, we will be on our own, therefore everything we need to take will have to be packed into a rucksack. Accomodation would be in B&B's so no tent required!

And lastly, do you have any hints, tips or random suggestions you could make which might be helpful? I've never done anything like this before, so the more suggestions the better!

Cheers
Jonna :biggrin:

And

Fun sponge
Jonnafun said:
therefore everything we need to take will have to be packed into a rucksack.

I have only one piece of advice - don't use a rucksack, get panniers.

rich p

ridiculous old lush
...or at the very least a large saddlebag. A rucksack would be uncomfortable. 70-80m a day is achievable if you're reasonably fit. Prebook the B&B's as disappointment would be tough to take. Other than eating and drinking enough, go for it! Good luck

dodgy

Ditto, I can't think of many worse ways of carrying luggage on a bicycle than rucksacks, especially over such great distances. Your back will start to sweat within about 10 minutes, it's possibly unhygienic and it's definitely not good for your back or your balance.
Dave.

sheddy

Legendary Member
Panniers and rear rack - get em fitted and packed well before you go so know there are no probs with heel clearance, waterproofness, and handling

vernon

Harder than Ronnie Pickering
Jonnafun said:
Hey