Lighting mounts

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ollitaylor0608

Hi there im A uni student studying product design and have a few questions. I do quite a lot of mountain biking my self and am writing A report on cycling specifi mounts for lights and go pros etc. I was wondering if people have any problems with frame mounts. For example when doing some technical downhill I find the lights tend to pointing down too much and don’t stay in the right position. do people have this same problem and know if there are anyways they’ve tried to avoid this or have any other suggestions. And just generally any other problems with accessories that that You have issues with.

sleuthey

Legendary Member
Make sure you do a spelling and grammar check before you hand your report to your professor.

To answer your question- the main issue I have is with my camera mount not offering suspension thus the video shakes.

A suggestion to overcome this would be for a Uni student to design a shock absorbing mount that can be mass produced cheaply.

figbat

Slippery scientist
With those rubber-O-ring type mounts yes, they tend to swivel around the bars. I mitigate this by wrapping some tape around the bar for extra grip and to increase the effective diameter.

My Hope R4+ light mount doesn't budge at all; this mount stays on the bike and the light bayonets on and off of it (it's beautifully-engineered). One small issue is that it really hurts when you whack your sternum on it, although this can be mitigated by rotating the mount forward and adjusting the light mounting angle upwards. Another downside is that is isn't quick and easy to switch from bike to bike, unless you have an extra mount on each bike.