Looking for advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tanya

Hi I have just joined this forum I have only been cycling for the last couple of weeks but really love it! I would like to take part in an event later in the year not only to keep me motivated but also to try and raise money for macmillan, however the research I have done suggests that I have to be in a team of four or five people and I would find this tricky. Does anyone know of events in south wales where I can either join an existing team or cycle alone? As mentioned I am a beginner but can already feel my fitness improving and have been able to double my distance in the last couple of weeks although it is still only a very small distance. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :smile:

Risex4

Dropped by the autobus
Hi Tanya.

At a guess, the advice would be to hunt around for a local cycle club; the benefits would be two fold as you'd find people there to a) help keep you motivated and b) maybe join in with you on such rides. It would also get you used to group cycling which would be good experience to take into an event.

Have you got a particular event in mind that you want to enter? Is it an annual thing? I only ask becasue Im in a similar situation where I've seen events that I'd like to have a go at, but I've conceeded at the moment I'm probably not best prepared for them right now, so I've set myself a target of increasing fitness levels and joining a cycle club so I will be ready when they roll around again next year. Im not saying you can't go for a specific event you've seen straight away, but if there are obstacles (like the distance or the need to have a 'team'), then those obstacles simply get transformed into being targets to beat, and then how you go about beating them becomes part of the fun of progression. If that makes sense?