MTB for road use or a proper road bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sprocket Dog

Hi all,For my commute I currently use a mountain bike with slick road tryes. My commute is 50 miles a day, 2/3 times a week.Would using a road bike make much of a difference to the length of time my commute takes (about 1hr 45mins each way)?I'm considering paying off my Cyclescheme voucher early in order to get a new bike in time for the London to Brighton and I guess I'm kinda looking for other 'valid' reasons to do so. TIA.:wacko:

joolsybools

I think yes.

I'm no expert but I think a road bike would have a lighter frame therefore less effort to get somewhere! I rode my old mountain bike to work yessterday to give to a mate and the difference was incredible. It was much slower, heavier and my legs ache today. Was so glad to be back on my light hybrid today.

Do you know anyone who has one that you can borrow for the day?

Randochap

Senior hunter
Get a road bike.

Having said that, there are a wide variety of bikes made for the road -- from racing-style bikes to practical utility bicycles. Choose wisely, depending on needs rather than fashion.

Refer to VeloWeb for more information on different styles of road bikes; from randonneur (audax), touring, to commuting machines.

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed