My first mini exhibition!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

heather212

Hi peeps,

I'm planning what will be my first mini exhibition....but as a novice I need a bit of help with my itinary!

I'm planning a long weekend - Friday to Monday, and while I want to do a fair bit on the bike I also want to stop off and look at some interesting stuff on the way! Anyways, here is my preliminary planning:-

Friday Day 1) Early start - hop on the train from Manchester to Birmingham with the bike. Then follow Sustrans Route 5 from Birmingham to Stratford upon Avon. I think thats probably about 30 miles? Potter about Stratford for a bit and possibly head to Warwick Castle for a look see. I'll probably stay in a B&B or Youth Hostel in Stratford on the Friday night. Any suggestions or recommendations would be good (tight budget though!)

Saturday Day 2) Head from Stratford to Oxford on Sustrans route 5 (50 miles?). Will be staying with friends in Oxford on the Saturday night (and possibly Sunday!)

Sunday Day 3) Will then be heading for London from Oxford. However, as I want a fairly leisurely trip I may jump on the train to Reading and start from there. A couple of friends from London will probably meet me at Reading to cycle back along Sustrans route 4 or the Thames route? (Suggestions welcome!). I know I'll probably miss some nice countryside in the Chilterns if I start in Reading, but I think the Oxford - London haul is too much for a single day? I'd rather start at Reading and then have more time to potter around Windsor! But if anyone has better ideas? Sunday night I'll stay with friends in London.

Monday Day 4) I'll spend the day pottering around London before hopping on a train back to Manchester!

Any suggestions for routes, accommodation, etc would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Heather

Auntie Helen

Ich bin Powerfrau!
I was expecting artwork with a title like that!

OP
OP
H

heather212

Sorry! Here's a wee abstract picture of the Mona Lisa:-