Need to upgrade from Triban 300

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

veeshy

Hi All

Cycling newbie here so go easy :smile:

I have a Triban 300 in white i purchased from Decathlon about 6 years ago and never really used it.

I've since taken to cycling, and wanted to upgrade if possible to cater for the following:

- Carbon forks (more comfy ride)
- Comfy Saddle
- Shimano gear set
- Better tyres
- Disc Brakes

Was considering a Triban 500 : https://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-rc-500-disc-road-bike-black-sora-id_8554410.html#v2734580

Wanted to know what your thoughts were and if there is a better bike out there for the money that I ought to be considering.

TIA

Cycleops

Legendary Member
By all means get the better tyres and the saddle but beyond that not really worth it and disc brakes will need a frame with associated fittings.

If you talking about vfm you won’t find better than a Triban other than a drastically reduced sale item but you’ll be lucky to find much in the current climate as the run on bicycles continues.

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Hi and :welcome: @veeshy

The Tribans have long been considered great value for money and if I had the space I suspect one would be finding its way into my collection. For what it's worth, here are my thoughts:

• The carbon fork will make the bike lighter but I'd question whether it will be more comfortable in the straight-blade style shown.
  • Saddles are incredibly personal so it's difficult to recommend one. You don't say what you have in mind so I'll just mention that contrary to most peoples' expectation, lots of padding is not actually a good thing except on short rides. Having the right shape for you makes more of a difference.
  • Shimano components generally work well so are worth having.