New Bike shop in Devon

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
D

davethebike

Hi and thanks for the feedback, its all very valuable to me, will keep you updated with our progress.
regards
dave

I'm not a bike expert but (pretending to be Mary Portas, figuratively speaking, I'm not dragging up) I'd say most importantly, you need to know your product/customers. If people want to go to a shop where the staff don't know much about bikes and where they just 'shift boxes' they can go to Halfords!

You say there are several established shops in the immediate area - what are you going to do/offer which they don't? Why are potential customers going to choose your shop? What's your USP?

If the shop currently sells mostly secondhand bikes, presumably catering for the student market, then you need to keep that customer base and build upon it. What sort of bikes do they mostly buy, what are they prepared to spend?

Hello Dave!

I'm in Exeter from tomorrow until Friday pm and would like to come in personally and wish you luck. What is the shop's address?

I'll treat you to a Cornish pastie and coffee, too!

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Hello Dave!

I'm in Exeter from tomorrow until Friday pm and would like to come in personally and wish you luck. What is the shop's address?

Dayvo, a quick google reveals that there is already a bike shop at 204 Topsham road called Full-Circle cycles, I don't know if it's that one. I think it's in the parade of shops opposite the exit of Barrack road.
Did we ever have an 'Exeter' conversation? My memory's poor. Did you live or go to school there? Twas the place of my Birth and early schooling (Mount Pleasant Road/Regebnts Park/Cathedral School). Still have a fondness for the old place!

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...