New wheels?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

dudi

Hi,
I've been using my fixie, converted from an 80s racer, for the lasy 8 months or so now & i ride it almost everywhere... racked up a couple of thousand miles so far on it.

I think I need some new wheels, and I'm starting to save up for them. In the mean time my original wheels will get a service, but they are cheap wheels and I want something a bit better.

I want something sturdy, nothing too fancy, more of a workhorse of a wheel than a thoroughbred as I use the bike every day for commuting and I don't want something really lightweight & fragile.

Can anyone suggest a good wheelset for me? nothing too expensive, preferably under £200.

Cheers

Greenbank

Über Member
My personal choice is a System Ex fixed/fixed hub in a Mavic Open Pro rim. My LBS built that for somewhere under £100 (can't remember the exact price).

You can get a matching front wheel for less obviously but any front wheel will do really.

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
I have the system ex fixed/fixed in a Mavric CXP33(i think) and thats nice. Was built really cheap though, not sure how much it should be though. Worth a look i think.

OP
OP
dudi

dudi

Well, I think I have narrowed it down to either the Navigator Pista wheels (circa £150)...
or a pair of wheels built by "Webbline".
their own "precision" track hubs, built onto either:
Mavic open Pro rims (£132) or
Mavic CXP 33 rims (£138).

At the moment I think I want deeper profile wheels, to the Navigators or the CXP33 seem the best...

I am desperately seeking guidance from anyone who knows anything about anything... I want to place the order on payday, next wednesday...

anyone?

Andy Pandy

The line I got from my LBS is that the deep profile rims (cxps etc.) are not as strong as open pros. I had considered navigators but opted for open pros on miche hubs. But then, I tend to be hard on wheels.

robbarker

Andy Pandy said: