Newbie drivetrain questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Wednesday

I measured my chain for the first time last week and it was 1.5% stretched. Oops. So I've just replaced a chain and cassette for the first time.

I wasn't sure if I'd need to replace the chainrings too. From what I've read, chainring wear is visibly noticeable. I've had a good look and they seem ok to me so I've left them, but I'm new to this so I'd appreciate opinions. There are a couple of teeth on the big ring that look a bit dodgy, but it's had very little use. I took a close-up of one anyway. Sorry if this is an unreasonable number of pictures.

IMG_5548.JPG IMG_5551.JPG IMG_5554.JPG IMG_5556.JPG IMG_5563.JPG

Also; jockey wheels. They don't look worn to me and they're about 300 miles old. Any chance they'd need replacing?

After I put the new bits on I rode up and down the street a few times to see how they felt. The middle ring seemed ok but I didn't try shifting at the front. The cogs on the cassette all seemed ok, but shifting wasn't smooth. Fine, but not smooth. This shouldn't happen from mixing brands, should it? Everything's compatible as far as I know, and I used the cassette as it came. (It's a SRAM PG850 cassette and KMC X8.93 chain. Everything else is Shimano.) I don't really mind if that's just how it is, as long as it doesn't suggest that something's wrong.

Could it be a lubrication issue? The latest chain replacement tutorial I read said that the grease that comes on the chain isn't a good lubricant and I should put some more on, but Sheldon Brown says it's totally awesome and I shouldn't dilute it with any other lube. It's really sticky and I'm worried that's it's going to attract all the gunk, but I don't know what to do with it now.

Thanks for your patience if you got this far.

They look a bit chewed in one shot but can't get a proper view. Post a piccie looking directly at them( plan view?).