Oval chainrings

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bonker

Guru
Do chainrings get more oval with wear?

I've been commuting happily for 15 months on mine but I've noticed the tight spot and loose spot on the chair seem to be much more pronounced.

Is that a wear thing? Can't see a bend or anything in the chainring.

Does the chainring fit using bolts or is it an integrated part of the cranks?

If the former, then my guess would be that it has slipped a little and is no longer perfectly centered on the spider arms.

If the latter, then I can't help you.

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
Touche said:
Does the chainring fit using bolts or is it an integrated part of the cranks?

If the former, then my guess would be that it has slipped a little and is no longer perfectly centered on the spider arms.

If the latter, then I can't help you.

My first thought was loose chainring bolts as well.

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
From Sheldon

Set the rear axle so that the chain pulls taut at the tightest part of the cranks' rotation. One at a time, loosen up each of the stack bolts, and tighten it back just finger tight. Spin the crank slowly and watch for the chain to get to its tightest point. Strike the taut chain lightly with a convenient tool to make the chain ring move a bit on its spider. Then rotate the crank some more, finding the new tightest spot, and repeat as necessary.

This takes a little bit of your hands learning how hard to hit the chain, and how loose to set the stack bolts, but it is really quite easy to learn.