Pedals and shoes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

woolley

Regular
Hi

I am looking to go clipless on my giant hybrid bike but as a beginner I am unsure of what pedals and shoes to go for so I am looking for some advice.

I only ride 2 maybe 3 times a week in the summer so don't want to be spending a lot of money.

I would appreciate any advice people have on what make and models to look at for both pedals and shoes.

Thanks

Big Nick

If you need to walk when out on your bike go spd if you don't go spd-sl

Shimano do plenty of fairly inexpensive pedals and shoes and you could get kitted out for around £80

maltloaf

Walking ability in spd vs spd sl is entirely down to what shoe they are used on.

I can walk fine in my touring shoes which have spd but the same cleats on my road shoes are nigh on impossible to walk in. I find the sl cleats much easier to walk in on those as it's a wider and more stable platform

As for price, m520 pedals can be had for around £19 and the highly underrated mt23 touring shoes are £38. I did 1500 miles with this combination last summer and it was great

Cycleops

Legendary Member
If walking is important try to get some with recessed cleats. I have some Shimano MTB shoes which are fine for walking. Shimamo M530 pedals are good as they are dual purpose having a flat side. I find the bearings on cheaper Shimano pedals are not so good. More expensive shoes have carbon rather than plastic soles for stiffness.

Whiz

I've bought m520 for my bike when it arrives and I wanted Tour shoes for my commute - Evans have 2013 range in sale so I got Specialized Elite for £68. Very comfortable (in the house yesterday haha) so can't wait to ride with them :-)

I would appreciate any advice people have on what make and models to look at for both pedals and shoes.