Pedals???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

k8srd

Hi all

I have been commuting for around 6 months now around 8miles a day. I bought a boardman comp through me CTW scheme which came with just normal pedals.

I was considering switching to SPD pedals rather than the standard?

Unsure as to the advantages and what type of specailist shoes you need etc, any info is much appreciated.

Many thanks

Scott

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
The standard SPDs are sometimes described as MTB pedals or MTB this that or the other as opposed to SPD-Ls which are different and more kind of road/touring and then the many other types. Many shoes take multiple types of cleat, don't stress too much, just calmly double check.

The major benefit of spds over flat pedals is efficiency.

Spd mtb shoes are all basically similar but you can go for ones that are more orientated to walking (like my tahos) or stiffer soled and more suited to the bike (like my bg mtb sports).

There's also another set of pedals again, spd-sl, looks, etc (road bike pedals) these are even more efficient for pedalling but terrible for walking.

If you are stopping and starting then the constant uncliping and re-clipping may be a pain especially if you have to get away smartish in traffic and over 8 miles the benefits will be minimal.

The real advantage is that they allow you to bring more muscles into play by allowing you to pull back or up on the pedals - but this needs quite a bit of practice.

accountantpete said:
If you are stopping and starting then the constant uncliping and re-clipping may be a pain especially if you have to get away smartish in traffic and over 8 miles the benefits will be minimal.
I find for me they are a benefit at traffic lights. I keep my strong foot (my right) clipped in and can always pull the pedal to 2 o'clock'ish and pull away smarter than traffic.

djondjayvadas