Ping Jimbo

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

montage

God Almighty
I am 6'2, 12.4 stone. If I were to cycle up a 10% for any given amount of time at 12 mph, how many watts am I producing.

If I shed a stone of weight, produce the same power, what speed will that give me? :rofl:

jimboalee

When I started riding Audax about fifteen years ago, went out and bought a Cateye Vectra. With that and a photocopied map, I rode 100s and 200s.
It was about the time MachineHead first published his calculator sheets.
I embarked on a project to construct my own Time and Energy calculator sheets for me on my tourer for Audax specific riding as MachineHead's stuff looked competitive cycling orientated.
I had an e-mail conversation with MachineHead discussing rates of climb and energy requirements thereof.
I had a handful of 'Old wives tales' on the subject. It was time to put them to the test.

This was at a time before PowerCalc. When PowerCalc appeared, my calc sheets results were very similar if I adjusted all the specific trims for myself to make them as PowerCalc's 'Tourist' example.

I asked MachineHead about climbing speeds and gearing for climbing, but he was reluctant to say anything due to the fact he had written his calculator sheets as a commercial venture and wasn't going to tell a stranger on an e-mail.
I decided not to make him aware of the 'mystic theories'. It was a tit-for-tat thing. He probably wouldn't have ( like many others I could mention ) recognise them as 'scientific'.

So I built up my calculator sheets which agreed with Machinehead and when PowerCalc appeared, all three of us were 'singing off the same hymn sheet'.

PowerCalc is freely available for anyone to use, but you can't see the workings and it is very simplistic.
MachineHead asks for some cash for using his stuff.
I don't ask for cash and I don't give my stuff away for free.