Question on cycling nutrition

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mrs fry

I'm new to cycling and have to cycle 7 miles home from work every day. I find that after just 10-15 minutes my legs are already giving in. I've started drinking a body fuel lucozade before I set off but I want to know what things I should be eating or drinking before I cycle to give me sufficient energy. And perhaps what I need to refuel with afterwards.

ShinSplint

Hi Mrs Fry,

If its just your legs giving in, rather than your breathing/fitness, its probably just a case of getting used to it.

But if you feel you're lacking energy, porridge is great for slow release energy, bananas are good (try 30 minutes or so before a ride).

SimonC

ShinSplint said:
Hi Mrs Fry,

If its just your legs giving in, rather than your breathing/fitness, its probably just a case of getting used to it.

But if you feel you're lacking energy, porridge is great for slow release energy, bananas are good (try 30 minutes or so before a ride).

+1, wont be anything to do with running out of energy, just your legs not used to cycling. All you can do is keep at it and it will get easier.

gavintc

Guru
I note your other post on beginning the commute. A common failing with newcomers to cycling is to set the saddle too low. Many people believe that the saddle height should allow you to put your feet down when you stop. You need to keep the saddle at a height that the leg is just bent a little bit when the pedal is at the lowest point. A low saddle is very very hard work to cycle with - you might find that resolves some of your problems. Good luck with the commute, if you are managing to do it now, you are commuting in the worst possible conditions - it will only get better and easier.

potsy

Rambler
Yeah sounds like beginners legs to me,could try dropping down a gear so that you're not having to push as much.I do this on mornings when I have no energy.