Raleigh Pioneer Trail 21 Speed - Needs some new bits.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JimJam13

Hi,
I'm new to Cycle Chat but I'm hoping someone on here can help with some advice with my Raleigh Pioneer Trail 21 Speed Hybrid.
I bought it new in 1997 and it's been a great bike. I've had to do very little maintenance to it over the past 23 years but now it needs some new components.
Unfortunately because its so old it's not straightforward trying to source direct replacements.
Ideally I want to put on a new compatible 7 speed cassette, free hub, chain, derailleur, crank, bottom bracket and front derailleur.
The 7 speed grip shifters are fine as is everything else.
Bike restoration 1.jpg

I thought this would be easy to do, but it's not as straightforward as I thought. I've managed to source a new 7 speed cassette, the free wheel hub is no longer available but I think I can recondition the old one.
Trying to get a new triple crank and keep the 'chain line' straight is a bit of a headache because it has to tie in with the other running gear ie Derailleurs etc.
The Shimano triple cranksets I've found all require a 122mm Bottom Bracket and yet the original is 110 mm.
Any help or advice would be much appreciated.
I've included a few photos. I've already stripped the bits - its just waiting new ones
Bike Restoration 2.jpg
Bike Restoration 3.jpg
Bike Restoration 4.jpg
Bike Restoration 5.jpg
Bike Restoration 6.jpg

raleighnut

Legendary Member
Try Spa cycles, BTW that's a beauty :becool:

wafter

I like steel bikes and I cannot lie..
Nice - welcome to the forum :smile:

SJS Cycles seem to carry a fair bit of vintage kit so might be worth a look.

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
:welcome:

Raleigh Pioneer's are popular on here as they last and are good bikes. Mine's a 1996 Trail 21 which has been updated for use in local town rides / bad weather commuting.