Scavenging?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

thegrumpybiker

Arch said:
If only they were all like that. I'd like to see them actually set up for people to go along and buy stuff - timber, scrap metal, bikes, furniture etc....

As you said before, elf and safety. That coupled with litigation culture. "I bought this table from the tip, and got a splinter in my finger, I'm suing." That's why my local "recycling centre" won't do it. They've got a container load of perfectly usable stuff though, don't know what they do with it.

longers

Legendary Member
Have a disclaimer when they "buy".

Just a simple one: I am buying this/these item/s as seen and accept that no refunds or returns will be offered. If the item is unsuitable for my needs I can bring it back for resale or re-use and no refund will be given. I accept that it is my responsibility to ensure that the item/s are suitable for my needs.

I am not a lawyer though. As is probably obvious.

ASC1951

Guru
Arch said:
I hate seeing things go to waste
A while ago I followed a long correspondence in one of the papers about this. The winner was someone whose mother kept a cocoa tin in the kitchen labelled "Pieces of string too short to be useful."

even with a disclaimer like that goods sold in the uk usually have to be fit for purpose, hence my dad once buying what looked like a wreck of a car from a dealership that was marked "sold as seen" after a bit of arguing the point it got some new tyres, brake pads and an MOT as my dad pointed out it had to be fit and also safe to be driven.

Speicher

Vice Admiral
ASC1951 said:
A while ago I followed a long correspondence in one of the papers about this. The winner was someone whose mother kept a cocoa tin in the kitchen labelled "Pieces of string too short to be useful."

:thumbsup::blush:xx(