Shimano HG70 7 speed Cassette

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Manonabike said:
Hi and thanks for the info. I didn't realise that the cassette has individual sprockets.... I will look into it.

The SRAM cassette is here but I'm yet to put it on..... this cassette's biggest sprocket has 32 teeth and my current cassette has 30.... it does look, by just looking at the cassette against the old cassette, that the 32 might be too big but I'm not an expert so my question is how do I find out if this new cassette will fit, without obviously attempting to fit the new cassette?

youngoldbloke, the link leads to an out of stock item but thanks anyway.

What rear mech have you got? If it's a road one (Sora, 105, Tiagra sort of thing), it'll not work.But equally, a road one probably wouldn't have worked with a 30T either! I'd assumed (possibly wrongly) that you'd have an MTB rear mech (Alivio, Acera, Deore and such like), which should work fine with 32T.
You may need to tweak the screw that sets the angle of the mech - not the high / low limit screws, the other one near where the mech bolts to the frame.

OP
OP
Manonabike

Manonabike

Über Member
TheDoctor said:
What rear mech have you got? If it's a road one (Sora, 105, Tiagra sort of thing), it'll not work.But equally, a road one probably wouldn't have worked with a 30T either! I'd assumed (possibly wrongly) that you'd have an MTB rear mech (Alivio, Acera, Deore and such like), which should work fine with 32T.
You may need to tweak the screw that sets the angle of the mech - not the high / low limit screws, the other one near where the mech bolts to the frame.

Hi actually it is a road rear mech, 18 years old though but in perfect working order, see pict. The picture shows the original cassette which, if I recall correctly, was 11 - 21. The current cassette is a 13 - 30

mybike.jpg

TheDoctor

Europe Endless