Specialized Sirrus and SKS Chromoplastic Guards - Help!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LazyLoki

Hi guys,

Finally given up trying to be brave and doing without mudguards on my commuter bike so I picked up a set of SKS Chromoplastic guards yesterday. They seem like well made guards and I've read plenty of good reviews but I'm doing my nut in trying to get the things fitted!

Does anyone have a Specialized Sirrus (any model - I think they all have the same geometry) with these guards fitted? The main problem I'm having is that there is no way I can see to fit the rear guard at the brake carrier as the hole is drilled in the bottom. Is there some kind of work around or are these guards just not meant for this kind of bike?

Sorry if I haven't explained this very well, I'm new to all this bike stuff!

Thanks for any help,

Neil

Hiya,

I have a Specialized Vita which I think is the 'women's' version of a Sirrus? Anyway, at the weekend I put aside half and hour to fit these same SKS mudguards to it....THREE HOURS LATER they were finally on....they MAY be good guards...OK people like them and they look OK when finally in place....
BUT
They are an absolute pig to fit. Every time one part is in the right place another part of it has pinged off somewhere....

The answer I came up with to your problem was to use a couple of cable ties. They work very well, and as you say there is no way to attach the bottom of the guard to the bike using the screws provided.

Hope this helps!

I had full length SKS Chromoplastic mudguards fitted to my 07 Sirrus Elite... until they snapped in half after about 9 months of daily commuting in central London. Not sure if there was too much tension in them when they were fitted... but they did look good.