Sponsorship

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sparty69

Hi everyone,
I haven't been on for a while as I've been busy trying to build up my new business. I'm a mobile bicycle mechanic covering the Glossopdale and Tameside areas and I'm seeking a young up and coming rider who may be interested in me sponsoring them. By sponsoring them I would set up and maintain their bike free of charge and be able to get them parts at cost price.
If anyone on here knows of someone in my area that may be interested in taking me up on this offer then please pass on my details. andy@cycletechtameside.co.uk website www.cycletechtameside.co.uk .
Thanks.

sounds more like ad-hoc support, rather than actual sponsorship..?

OP
OP
S

sparty69

sounds more like ad-hoc support, rather than actual sponsorship..?
What do you regard as sponsorship?, throwing large amounts of money at someone?. I'm a small business looking to support a local rider with my time for free, something that they would otherwise have to pay for, or do themselves. This saves them time and money. Sponsorship takes all forms.

The problem you will have is that any 'up and coming young rider' will almost certainly already be part of a local club/team structure (if they are any good). Consequently, if you are expecting him/her to carry your logo on their kit, then the only way that will happen is to sponsor the entire club/team with new jerseys, etc.

Sponsorship takes 'many' forms - but not all of them make sense. If raising your profile is the aim, then offering some kind of service at local events (Tameside crit series, or local sportives for example) would probably work better. Strictly speaking though, if you are a franchise (which I believe Cycletech is) then you should be looking to head office for national advertising/sponsorship which you can ride on the back of...

OP
OP
S

sparty69