Stuck between two shoes!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Yazzoo

Ok before you all say order both and try them on I'm after any advice about the quality of shoes etc, they're similarly priced but do they represent the same value? Anyone had an awful experience with either? Or love them and wouldn't buy anything else? Or would you recommend something else around the same price point? I've no experience with either, my old shoes are an older, more plastic-y looking version of these -
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-womens-wr32-spd-sl-road-cycling-shoes/ but they've seen better days - basically is it worth me ordering both or are you going to tell me not to touch one of them with a barge pole cause they'll disintegrate after 50miles?

So these are the two contenders
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-r107-road-cycling-shoes/

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/northwave-womens-starlight-3s-road-shoes-1/

Klassikbike

Both brands have usually a simmilar fit, from the two the Shimano shoe seems to be of higher standard, stiffer, better closing ratcheting, better materials used.

bikeman66

To be fair, Shimano don't make many things that aren't up to the job and two or three of my friends wear their shoes and would probably swear by them.

I've never used Shimano shoes personally, but I did have a pair of Northwave MTB shoes a few years ago which were pretty well indestructible. I don't think you'll go too far wrong with either to be honest. Personal preference on colour/design will probably be the deciding factor I guess.

bpsmith

Veteran
Can't comment on the NW's, but I have those exact Shimano shoes. Have used them for 18 months and they are really good. Comfortable with plenty of adjustment in the straps and enclosure. Relatively stiff where needed with the carbon front sole section. Been used in wet and dry and still looking good with little sign of wear. I would definitely buy again.

vickster

Legendary Member