stuck brake

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BearPear

Veteran
I am still a newbie to cycling and although the actual riding is OK, I have few practical skills and rely on hubby for help, and also the LBS.

I decided to have another go at taking off the front wheel (quick release) this morning before hubby went to work so he could supervise me. I have ladies Trek 7.2 and the wheel isn't easy to remove, and even harder to get back on - lots of, fiddling about opening the quick-release toggle things, all the while taking the weight of the rest of the bike!

Anyway, we got the wheel back on but the front brake isn't working, only one side is moving when the lever is squeezed and the side which doesn't move is touching the rim and causing friction. The cable has been properly seated back in the mechanism, or at least it looks to be. What should I be doing to rectify this?

Thanks in advance.

By the way, it is a fabulous day here - perfect for a bike ride!

BigSteev

BearPear said:
I have ladies Trek 7.2 and the wheel isn't easy to remove, and even harder to get back on - lots of, fiddling about opening the quick-release toggle things, all the while taking the weight of the rest of the bike!

This sounds like you're removing the wheel with the bike the right way up. Much easier to 1) release the brake cable bit so that the pads are away from the rim then, 2) stand the bike upside down on the seat and handlebars. This will then allow you to easily undo and remove the wheel. To replace simply reverse the procedure.