Tire replacement question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Porknz

So I brought my bike in for a spring tune-up last weekend. Got a call this weekend that the tire I need to replace it is out of stock. I started researching online as I'm new to biking. Bike is a Salsa Journeyman Sora with 650b tires.

1. I ride almost completely on road, but unused country roads mostly. I don't want a full on gravel tire with big knobs, but I don't want a slick either. Any suggestions for almost all road riding while maintaining the ability to hop on a gravel road now and then?

2. As I am looking, I am also thinking, I have all of the tools to repair a flat in an emergency, but being new to cycling, I've never repaired a flat before, and am always worried about when I have to twenty miles from home by myself. Does this feel like a no brainer opportunity to do my first repair at home, with all the time that I need and to learn???

This is what is on there now. https://teravail.com/products/sparwood-tire#/

As 650b or 27.5” is the new trend at the moment, stocks are a little low. As it’s a disc brake bike and I assume built to also Accomodate 700c tyres you could get a set of 700c wheels and then fit a set of 700x32c or 700x35c tyres, best of both worlds then.

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
I'm pretty bad at it but I get there in the end. Here's my only tip: put all three tyre levers under the bead before levering the other ends onto spokes. It gives you more room to get them under the bead.

OP
OP
P

Porknz

Thanks for the info on the 650b trend. I guess there is a supply issue with just about everything in the world right now. :smile: Definitely want to stick with the 650b's. I've never ridden on 700's.

WTB and Hutchinson do 650b tyres, if your after a semi slick don’t fall foul of 650c tyres which are not the same size as 650b tyres.

OP
OP
P

Porknz