total beginner

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

hosks

Hi.i am a 45 year old male, just got a hybrid bike(ridgeback supernova)and planning to get fitter.used to cycle lots as a youth but have not for 28 years.
Bikes have changed a lot since then so I will need guiding through things as they appear, so I would appreciate your help and patience.
Thanks.
Hosks

ThePainInSpain

Welcome aboard from an even older beginner. :hello:

Shaun

Founder
Welcome, and if you haven't already found it - pop in the beginners forum - you'll get plenty of help in there. :smile:

Cheers,
Shaun :biggrin:

ZIZAG

Veteran
Welcome Hosks . " Its never to Late "
:rolleyes:
I am 20 years older than you .
And I just started back last year . Last cycled In the seventies . :blush:
Now I am loving all my freedom on the bike .Fresh air and exercise

Hope this encourages you .
:hello:

dellzeqq

pre-talced and mighty
Hosks - here's a small list

- you're right. Bikes have changed, but they've changed for the better. The Supernova is a fine, robust bike (and the polished aluminium one is pretty spiffy to look at) and you'll see that in the 28 years you've been away (for shame, for shame) brakes and gearchanging have improved. Take time to get used to brakes that really do stop you in a hurry, and to gear changes that work as if by magic.

- the biggest, most revelatory, change has been clipless pedals and shoes with fancy little devices on the sole to keep your feet at one with the pedals. When you get to that stage ask for advice and encouragement