Town Bikes, Tyres, and Variable Chain Tension

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bottom Bracket

Hi, I'm a newbie on here, having been bikeless for more than ten years

I recently bought a Halcyon Yukon (online, at about one third of it's RRP) - it came in a box, and I have enjoyed working out how to connect, disconnect and, most importantly, re-connect the cables for the internal brakes and gears... when I get my first puncture, many miles from home, this will be essential knowledge

I have ridden it twice this weekend, on very short local trips on road and towpath, and I have to say that I am mightily impressed with my new machine - it is fast, smooth to operate, and has the most comfortable riding position I have ever known

The bike itself is clearly not a current model (hence the massive discount on the price), and I do not seem to see many similar bikes in this year's model ranges - I would be interested to hear other people's ideas about the bike

The tyres are Continental SportContact (26x1.6) with 'SafetySystem' - I think that these tyres are of a reasonably high quality, but I am not sure what the 'SafetySystem' bit means! Are these tyres designed for grip, or speed, or puncture resistance?

Finally, I have noticed that the chain tension varies during each revolution. This is not noticeable when riding, but I noticed it when I was lubing the chain link by link. On each revolution, the chain tension fluctuates between 'almost too tight', and 'almost too loose', so I don't think there is a huge problem - I just wondered if such fluctuations are normal

Cheers

Bottom Bracket

RecordAceFromNew

Swinging Member
I can see it is an incredible bargain, the hubs cost as much as the bike!