trail tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

phil120867

Über Member
I've bought a Scott Ransom that comes with Scott branded tyres that I here are pretty cr@p. I'm new to trail riding so I need to replace the tyres. I'll be using this bike around Surrey (Barry knows Best etc) and trips to Wales - including Cwn Carn etc. and the Peak district. So Surrey mud and roots and more rocky stuff too. I currently run Nobby nics 2.1 on my XC bikes should I go for bigger versions of these or something a bit more substantial remembering I'll also need to get the 32lb bike up hills too? Conti gravity 2.3 seems a good (cheaper) option.

lukesdad

I would have said thats a bit too big for general trail riding. If your new to it your gonna find places like Cwm Carn etc. hard work. I never use bigger than 1.95s and semi slicks unless its really slippy. The only time Ive riddden larger is on sand. Which was the norm when I lived in N.E hants are you on sand in surrey.

spence

Über Member
The Ransom's great but little too much bike for Leith/Holmbury and some/most of the Peaks. Prolly OK for CC. So may struggle on the ups whatever.
As for tyres, there's a whole raft to choose from and it's difficult to recommend as people find the feel very different. eg I love Vert Pros on my Inbred but found them terrible on the 5-Spot, whether that's because I can push further on the FS than the HT I don't know. Most of the Conti stuff is OK, Mt Kings, Gravity's etc. and you'll be fine upto 2.3/2.4.
On my 5-Spot I find Jones ACX's in 2.2 a good tyre for the Surrey stuff, they seem to grip fine in the loose (yes lukesdad there is rather a lot of sand down there, Wolvens Ln for example) and most other places but the knobs do pop and bang off rocks. XR's 2.2/2.25 work better on that type of stuff.

Have fun what ever.

GilesM

Legendary Member