Two wheeled recumbent riding in winter?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Just got my recumbent back on the road in time for freezing fog and winter. What advice would you give?

I've ridden all year round on uprights, taken a few spills and learnt where to icy patches hide out. I've learnt to ride slow and steady manoeuvres especially turns. However I've got a lot of handling experience with uprights. I don't with recumbent bikes. What do I need to know?

It's just a bike but it's a different bike to what I'm used to. The SMGT is a solid touring bent but with fairly slick, narrow schwalbe tyres on I'm not sure what to expect.

a.twiddler

Veteran
It's not all solid freezing fog and ice from October -March. Plenty of good riding days. Have you started commuting on it? If not you can pick your days. If you're worried you could always change your tyres for something more rugged. Otherwise it's like riding your uprights. The more you ride the more relaxed you'll be.

The more relaxed you are the less likely you are to stiffen up if you come to a nadgery patch of mud, leaves or ice and maybe fall off. How did you get your handling experiences on uprights? By riding. The same with your SMGT. Just get out there and ride! There is also the added factor that you'll have more layers of padding in the winter if you need to cushion the fall, which I think the fear of, is stopping you from enjoying your riding.

I found that thinking about things like starting across a busy junction stopped me actually doing it but if I made myself "just do it" it just flowed. The same if I'd stopped for some reason, and was intimidated by the traffic flow, if I selected a likely gap, signalled assertively and set off, traffic would just make way. They're a lot more worried about you on your strange machine than you are about them!