Tyre sizes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
Ah, rim size marking, that's another one.

For that we have the snappily titled European Tyre Rim Technical Organisation (ETRTO) to thank.

Your rims are 622 in ETRTO speak, which is why the Smart Sam tyres in the link are also listed as 622 size in the various widths.

Last edited:
OP
OP
stuarttunstall

stuarttunstall

I really rate Smart Sams. I have 27.5 x 2.35 on a MTB and at the moment 26 x 2.1 on my tourer (in off road mode)

They seem OK to me, although having not ridden for a long time I have no experience of other tyres yet... The bike is nice to ride and seems comfortable.. Will try locking the forks tomorrow to see how that feels..

OP
OP
stuarttunstall

stuarttunstall

Ah, rim size marking, that's another one.

For that we have the snappily titled European and Tyre Rim Technical Organisation (ETRTO) to thank.

Your rims are 622 in ETRTO speak, which is why the Smart Sam tyres in the link are also listed as 622 size in the various widths.

Lol... now I am confused :smile: Why is nothing simple these days lol ...

Vantage

Carbon fibre... LMAO!!!
Most 700c tyres are sized to fit into the narrow spaces of road bikes because people believe that narrower is faster. Which frankly, is bollocks.
32mm and over tyres are aplenty but tend to be listed as 'city, touring, trekking or cyclocross' with cyclocross being nobblier tyres and many are 35mm to around 45mm.

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
It's not too confusing, although it is a bit... The rim size is the diameter of the rim seat in mm. It's exact, and critical.
Things like 29" and 26" are referring to the diameter of the tyre tread, and are approximate.