Ubuntu

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
[QUOTE 1295329"]
So I bought an EEPC from Crackle for my boys for Christmas.

Is it worth starting a clean install with Ubuntu? It's got Linux at the mo, and Netbooks are new to me. How easy is it to do? Is Ubuntu good?
[/quote]

What distribution of Linux does it have at the moment? Ubuntu is just one "version" (distribution) of Linux.

What's the model of the PC?

[QUOTE 1295332"]
It's an EEEPC 4G. How do I see what version of Linux it's running?

As to why, I just thought putting the latest version on would be the thing to do.
[/quote]

Sorry, this is probably where I bow out... I have no knowledge of that computer. From what I have read, it is possible but not straight forward unless you're a nerd.

You need to follow the instructions on the Ubuntu website, which involves creating a bootable USB memory stick and booting from that which I believe the machine is capable of. Follow the link in the previous post (or you can choose the Desktop Edition).

If you can find a terminal window, type:

cat /proc/version

and that'll tell you the version installed now.

Edit to say: on second thoughts, it does appear as straight forward as installing on any other PC after all. Follow the instructions on the Ubuntu website (using another computer to download and create the bootable USB stick).

HJ

Cycling in Scotland
I haven't used the Netbook Edition of Ubuntu, but I am using the full version on my laptop and it works very well, I prefer it to Win 7...

PBancroft

Its probably either Aurora or Xandros. Never used either I'm afraid.

I'd be tempted to leave the installed OS on there and see how you get on. The beauty of Linux is that you can try different flavours and see what suits you best - you may find that you prefer Xandros over Ubuntu, for example.

Amheirchion