Vancouver-tijuana- colnago c40 NEEDED!!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tristantyson

Hi! i am new to this whole riding thing but i am in desperate need of some help !!!! I and 4 other good friends are riding from Vancouver to tijuana to raise money and awareness for the MS society and a local hospice in cambridge which goes under the name of the Arthur Rank Hospice. I have no history in riding, apart from growing up in holland and cambridge (two very bike orientated places), but am embarking on this adventure for two brilliant causes! HOWEVER, i am in desperate need of a bike, after speaking to an uncle (an ex keen road rider) i have been advised that the best bike for the job would be a colnago c40! However finding one is proving rather difficult! my price range is around the 600-800 pound mark. which obviously doesnt give me much room for maneuver (obviously i am looking for a 2nd hand one)! Can anyone help me out?!?!? oh and if you guys are interested in checking out the ride look at our blog which is: http://van-to-tij.blogspot.com. thank you so much any comments and help and links would be amazing!!! (ps. i require a 54-56cm frame!! haha)

Fiona N

Veteran
I think your uncle was leading you on - a C40, though light and stiff (and with Italian bling factor, of course) is probably not a good idea for a novice on a long distance tour. I reckon you'd be better off with something with more forgiving handling, not a race thoroughbred, and a more shock absorbing frame unless you're only going to be riding a few hours a day. You don't say whether you're going to be fully supported but I assume so, if you were even contemplating a C40, so it's not like you need a fully fledged touring bike just something more like an Audax bike - built for secure handling over long hours and long distances in all types of terrain (on-road, of course).