What size frame to choose

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
Peter Salt

Peter Salt

Bittersweet
Yeah, I guess if I was 5'5'' there would be no debate on the 'S', likewise if I was 5'9'' it would have to be an 'M'.

At 5'7'' it looks as though you can make both work with some adjustments to bar height and stem length. As a newbie I think I should go with a smaller one as getting a longer stem on a smaller frame will result in less 'twitchiness' then a shorter stem on a larger frame.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
I rode a TCR for some years until I sold it recently. I'm 6'0 and I was on a M/L frame on the TCR, just right, and bang in the middle of Giant's sizing guide.
when the saddle got adjusted to my leg length it didn't look very high
- family jewels were less than half an inch away from the top tube when standing up (in trainers)

A TCR should have masses of seatpost showing and your groin should be a LONG way over the top tube when standing, it's a compact frame with a sloping top tube. If the seat looks fairly low on a TCR it's the wrong size frame for that rider, probably by 2 orders of magnitude.
The saddle should (as a rough guide) be about level with the bars, or a little above. Not down near the frame's seat cluster.

Edit: I see you're on the right lines now but thought I'd leave this up just to help confirm it in your mind.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Just to give you an idea of what a TCR looks like seat post wise when it's the correct size for the rider, this was mine:

20210506_210816.jpg

OP
OP
Peter Salt

Peter Salt

Bittersweet
Got an idea: Will go to the gym a try different positions on an exercise bike. I believe the ones in my local leisure centre have both horizontal and vertical adjustments on the seat and handlebar. Anything I should have in mind when comparing an exercise bike to the real thing in terms of position?

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer