What tyres should I be using?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jsmith

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on here so please excuse if it's in the wrong forum. I'm quite new to road biking and am looking to get some advice of the correct type of tyre to use if possible.

I have a BTwin Triban 300 entry-level road bike, and am mainly riding along country lanes which don't have the greatest road surfaces as you can imagine. Currently I'm running on Continental Gatorskin Poly X Breaker 23mm tyres, and I'm getting punctures on virtually every other ride. I'm obviously not using the correct tyres so was hoping for some suggestions if anyone has suffered a similar problem.

I really like this bike as it's light, and much prefer the feel that of riding my mountain bike. However, I just need to find the right solution to my tyres problem so that it isn't as much of a constant problem.

If anyone can let me know of any tyres they would suggest, and possibly some tricks of the trade I'm be most appreciative.

JSmith

Citius

Nothing wrong with those tyres, which are - in principle - ideal for that kind of use.

gbb

Legendary Member
You'll get several suggestions based only on what any particualr person finds works for them...but it doesnt neccessarily work for others.
I run Gators, havnt had a puncture in over two years.
Some swear by Marathons, others don't like them.

Consider your riding position and area.. have they been cutting hedges ? |Hawthorn is a swine for punctures. Do you ride close to the edge ?...more crud there.

And welcome to you Jsmith :okay:

MikeW-71

Veteran
What is puncturing the tyres? Gatorskins are quite tough things, if it's big thorns or glass, you're maybe riding too close to the edge of the road where all that crap ends up. If it's a "snakebite" where you get two holes in the tube, then tyre pressure is too low.