Wheels - Weight

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dave5N

Über Member
I'm so glad I stuck with this thread.

Jimbo said 'Radical'.

kfinlay

Must Try Harder
petmcgratt said:
I am a newbie to cycling and like most newbies went for a cheaper option bike Vitus Alios Triple from Chain reaction Cycles. I personally think I got a great deal as it retailed at £750 and by the time I got it at a reduced price of £299 not to mention the further reduction as I bought it through cycle to work scheme. However, I have been toying with the idea of changing my wheels from the rigida flyer noir to something like the camapagnolo Khamsin which are selling at the moment for £119. Is there much poin in me doing this or as some people have pointed out in other threads you are better putting the money into upgrading to a better bike. Waht do other people think up the campagnolo khamsin?

Hey petmcgratt,
I bought the same bike at the same price, if your new then I wouldn't worry about buying new wheels - the thought crossed my mind but I plan on buying a much better bike next year so figured I'm better using what I have till it wears out then replace as required. In the mean time save my pennies for the new bike. I did replace the very crappy tyres to Vittoria Rubino Pros (in white!) - they run at 120psi, run smoother and faster, grip better too - this can have up to 75% of the benefit of replacing the wheels/tyres.

A Spesh Allez won't be a much better bike and buying £150 wheels to put on that won't help things much in the long run. I'd say overall keep your bike as it is - although I also replaced the stem, seat post and saddle just to get the right position and comfort for longer rides (2hrs+). This can be your winter/training bike once you upgrade in the future.