Wheelsmith.co.uk

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

l4dva

Guru
Need some opinions on wheelsmith.co.uk... apologies if this has been done before...

I was very tempted to buy these wheels http://www.planet-x-bikes.co.uk/i/q/WPPXPRO50/planet-x-r50-carbon-race-wheels but i just don't think tubs will be very practical for me...

I have found wheel smiths who have a 50mm carbon clincher rim that they could build up for me... according to the web site they believe these carbon rims have been tested and perform well as clinchers.

The option i would possibly go for would be with Novatec light hubs and the sapim spokes... according to the figures on the web site and my calculations they would weight a total of 1527g and cost £646... which is a lot of money! or slightly less if i went for the 38mm version... but then i might be loosing the aero advantage that im after looking...

http://www.wheelsmith.co.uk/wheelprices.htm

I have no knowledge of the novatec hubs or the sapim spokes.... are they any good? and secondly are wheelsmiths any good in terms of service/value/quality and warranty if anything fails?

Do you think on a price to weight ratio this would be a good deal? Will the hubs/components last? or should i go with the tubs verion off planet x for £500 and spend the left overs on the tubs tyres and hope i dont get a puncture.

I will be using these wheels for summer riding only - triathlons and sportives my current wheels will be used for training/winter..

Thanks
Look forward to hearing your opinions

kfinlay

Must Try Harder
Bottom line is Wheelsmith are excellent - phone them, have a chat, tell them what you plan on using the wheels for and trust their advice - simples!
As for the quality of the parts - they only use stuff that they trust and is reliable.
As they are so good, they are very popular so there could be a waiting time to get your wheels built and delivered but the will be honest with you so you know what to expect.