Which MTB to go for?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Thulsa Doom

Hi
I'm new to these waters, and am looking for advice on a few bikes I've looked at.

I'm a bit of abeginner to mountain-biking, but have done a few technical challenging trails locally on my current bike which has no suspension.
It's slowly killing me!

I've looked at Massi Trax, Claud Butler Cape Wrath (2008) and probably a few others that I can't remember.

My budget is £600 max.
The Massi I can get 2nd hand for $425, the CB for £450 new.

As I'm fairly new and don't know enough about specifications etc, I'm wondering if someone can tell me if both these are totally crap, or if one is far better than the other.

Mr Pig

Hi there and welcome :0)

I've just spent months looking at bikes in this price point and I ended up buying a Genesis Altitude 00, list price £570 but I paid £540 and got a £20 pair of pedals thrown in.

It's a very comfortable bike you'll be able to ride all day without ending up walking like a disabled gorilla! Good choice of components too and slick styling. There are lots of good bikes at the price though so it's all down to personal taste, make sure you try before you buy.

With the end of a wet summer coming up I think you'll get a good deal so whatever you buy ask for money off.

trio25

Über Member
Fit is the important thing, at that price point I'd recomend a specialized rockhopper. I'm afraid I've not come across the bikes you are looking at.

OP
OP
T

Thulsa Doom

The Massi is a 20", so being 6"1 fits well.

Most of the stuff on it is Shimano Deore. The CB not all is Shimano.

The seller will throw in a free fork service (RST Gila forks, apparently not fantastic with std grease).

I'm swinging towards the Massi atm.

Flying_Monkey

Recyclist