Which size would suit me best?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ivan

Hello again,

I'm sorry for opening a new thread for this. I am going to buy my new bike next week and just want to make sure I am ordering the correct frame size. Since I am a newbie, I don't quite understand these things, I've seen people say "you need to have this much inches between you and the frame when you are standing up over the bike" but this probably wouldn't apply to all frame shapes... Anyway, I like the Carrera Vulcan, and they only have the 18" in my local store, however I think I may need the 20". And since they don't have them on display, they're not even in the same store, I probably can't try them to see the difference.
I am 6 feet tall, should I go for the 20" frame? Let me know If I need to take other measurements.

vulcan_sizeguide

Hill Wimp

Fair weathered,fair minded but easily persuaded.
Where are you ordering it from ?

vickster

Legendary Member
Join British Cycling,, you can get 10% off - ride membership costs £21 for first year with TFL13 code and you get lots of other benefits too

There's always quidco too

Where are you ordering it from ?

Carrera are a Halfords brand. [EDIT] beaten to it, must type faster, or type one line replies ;)

Ask them to size you up and order the size you think you need. Then if it's not right you're not obliged to buy it.

You really do need to try it first to make sure it's correct, and there is no reason that should be a problem with a national chain like Halfords.

Be advised though, Halfords are generally very poorly regarded in all expects of knowledge, customer care and service, (there are apparently exceptions to this, but not in my local stores!). If you're not getting anywhere with one store, and you really do want the Carrera, then simply go to another one, there's plenty of 'em.