Will the fork fit any frame?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Peter Salt

Bittersweet
An absolute beginner here so please be patient with my silly questions.

I picked up a Giant TCR Advanced 1 (2017, black/blue/orange) fork for close to nothing at a local bike recycling shop. The lads there told me it came from an XL size frame, gave me the frame number and I was able to verify that on the Giant website. Will it fit any size R16 frame?

I understand that the (aluminium) steerer tube might require cutting, but other than that are there any differences?

Cheers!
/P

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello Peter and :welcome: to CC.

I should think you'll be fine. So what's the plan? You want to buy a frame for it or do you have one in prospect?
Should fit a number of other frames too. A pic would be useful.

OP
OP
Peter Salt

Peter Salt

Bittersweet
Ha! No plan at all mate, no plan at all. Found out about a local 'Re-cycle' place and decided to have a look around. It lied in a pile or junk that used to be a lovely bike. Apparently, it fell off a car rack. Ouch! Photos:

An odd chip here and there but otherwise looks good; nothing seems to be bent. Super long steerer tube. Actually, really like the colours/finish and would be great to find a matching frame- not sure how many there may be around.

Best,
/P

Cycleops

Legendary Member
I'd say that's never been used due to the steerer being uncut. The chips likely coming from when it fell.
Unfortunately I don't think you're going to find a matching Advance 1 frame at such a bargain price. Going to be several hundred quid at least and then you've got to find the high end components to hang on it. Probably looking at around £1.5k.
Bit like finding a cheap Ferrari steering wheel and then looking for the matching car to put it in. :smile:

Last edited:
OP
OP
Peter Salt

Peter Salt

Bittersweet