Windproof top suggestions please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ricksavery

Über Member
My Parrot (remember them?) Pertex windproof smock tore irrevocably the other day after 17+ years, so got my money's worth. Fabulous top.Trying to find a replacement is proving difficult. The nearest I have got is the Montane Featherlite smock (£33 in a sale), but even the correct size (XL) is tight across the back when I lean forward but perfect everywhere else - not really acceptable. I assume they are not cut for cycling.
The only other one I have seen is the Buffalo windshirt, but I have no knowledge of how roomy they are. They also seem a bit pricey for just Pertex, but if there are no other options then I guess I'll have to pay it. So, does anyone have any other suggestions please?
Thanks in advance
Rick

Have a look on Amazon for an Optimum windproof top. They are around £18. Don't know about sizing but the cut is cycle specific and it's made of ripstop pertex (or equivalent lightweight polyamide).

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
I still have a Parrot Pertex Gilet and it's great .... but coming near the end of its life :sad:

Recently in 'Go Outdoors' I saw this by Paramo and was impressed (£50 from Memory).. I have just bought the Velez Light Smock for foul weather cycling and walking and so far it's fabulous (pricey but worth it):

http://paramo.co.uk/en-gb/garments/detail/index.php?pgc=NIKWAXWINDPROOFSMOCKFUERAUNISEX

Oh, here it is ....
http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/paramo-fuera-smock-mens-windproof-jacket-p142884

I find most cycle specific waterproofs/windproofs also too tight across back and underarms, The Paramo (at least the Velez Light smock) seems to be great in this respect.

TKMaxx occasionally have some windproofs in of diverse makes and quality