Yes another which commuting bike thread...Sorry

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ibi

Hi All

Hope your good and well
Ive recently started to commute to work on my MTB -Giant Revel 3
I am now wanting to upgrade to a proper bike

The Budget is upto £1000 and i would ideally like a road bike!
What would you recommend?
Would any upgrades need to be made to the bike?
eg. tyres,rims?

the roads are a bit bumpy and some with some huge potholes
which i do try and miss but would i need different tyres?
would they be ok in the wet?

am sorry if there are loads of questions but im fairly new to it and dont
want to waste my money or buy the wrong bike!

Many thanks to all
Ibi

Just about any bike for that budget would be a decent steed. All the big names have bikes that would suit, and others like Focus, Cube, B.Twin and Boardman usually offer even better VFM.
Wheels are always a compromise on just about any bike as it's the one place most manufacturers scrimp on to build the bikes to a budget. That said, unless your a heffalump, (like me!), then stock wheels on a £1k bike should be absolutely fine, although I can fully recommend Halo Aerorage as a bombproof 700c commuting wheel.
Tyres are often not the best either, so factor in a pair of Conti Gatorskins, Conti GP 4 seasons or similar. Other than that the worlds your oyster as they say.
Try the search function as well because there have been loads of similar threads, all of which will be full of apt information for you to browse :thumbsup:

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.
I did a year on a Dawes Tanami town bike, then a year on a Specialized Allez 16. I now commute on a Baccetta Strada recumbent, which is ideal as the ride to work is a 23 mile round trip, but the recumbent wouldn't make sense if it was a short commute.