Cyclist made me cross yesterday

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I was in my car going down the A65 at just below the NSL. Came around a bend to see two cyclists attemptig to enter my lane from a road on my right. They had gone over one lane and were hovering in the middle of the road attempting to cross over and proceed in my direction. They were clipped in and moving, albeit slowly.

I'm a cautious driver, moreso when cyclists are around, so I put the anchors on as their intentions were not clear. I catered for the possiblility of them continuing across the road and into my path. As I was going at some speed it was a slightly dramatic stoppage, but stop I did and they continued into my lane.

I did not have a problem with that as I'd rather err on the side of caution. What bothered me though was that as the cyclist took up position he shook his head which I interpreted as 'You idiot'.

I pulled up alongside him and asked him not to shake his head at me. He claimed that he was letting me go. I wasn't getting into a debate so I left it there.

Should I have been cross, I dunno? I thought it was impolite.

Landslide

Rare Migrant
Sounds like an odd reaction on the cyclist's part. I guess had I been in his place, I'd have expected you to carry on, but having been let in, I'd have given a friendly acknowledgement. Ho-hum...

LLB

I interpret his response as being of one who is ignorant of the rules of the road.

What was he doing being clipped in on a situation where he is out in the road and may have to come to a full stop ;)

Bigtallfatbloke

If you had the right of way then he was jus tbeing a prick. However that said it is always good to see a car slow down before it stops.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
LLB said:
What was he doing being clipped in on a situation where he is out in the road and may have to come to a full stop ;)