How to tell the difference between MTB pedals and Road?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Enis Baysal

I was given a Giant FCR3 by a cousin and I am looking at buying shoes for my riding.

Being an absolute NOOB I cant tell what pedals are currently on the bike so I kmow what shoes (MTB/Road) to buy?

Any ideas what I should be looking at in the pedals??

Cheers Dudes/Dudettes^^

Keith Oates

Janner
Take a photo of the pedals that are now on the bike and post it here and we can probably suggest the type of shoe you need!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OP
OP
Enis Baysal

Enis Baysal

20140626_021614.jpg
20140626_021603.jpg
Take a photo of the pedals that are now on the bike and post it here and we can probably suggest the type of shoe you need!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2am and im getting out of bed to go to the garage and get a pic... Its bugging me so bad -.-! Lol Thanks for your help I really do appreciate!

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
They look a lot like Shimano M520 SPD pedals. You can ride them with trainer style shoes. I have, on a road bike, for four years on urban commutes and some longer rides. Great pedals. If you need to get some shoes to match them with, make sure they come with cleats for the pedals.

Edit: cross post with KO above!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OP
OP
Enis Baysal

Enis Baysal

They look a lot like Shimano M520 SPD pedals. You can ride them with trainer style shoes. I have, on a road bike, for four years on urban commutes and some longer rides. Great pedals. If you need to get some shoes to match them with, make sure they come with cleats for the pedals.
Sorry but another really noob question... what does spd mean? XD

simon.r

Person
They're old MTB pedals, you need to buy MTB style shoes that accept a cleat with 2 mounting holes. BUT the cleats come with the pedals, not the shoes.