Organising the workshop; so... many... spokes...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm working on workshop organisation today, and I've found a very large box full of boxes of spokes, anything from 72 spokes to 500 in a box.

And then I found a bigger one behind it.

I know next to nothing about spokes, save that they all come in different shapes and sizes. Whoever bought these seems to have sourced them mostly from DT Swiss, who I understand generally make double butted spokes. Some of the boxes show the sizes as 1.8/2.0 which I take to mean they are 2.0mm at the ends and 1.8mm in the centre. So far so good, but what about boxes just saying "2.0" or "1.8"? are these the same diameter throughout?

Big John

Guru
At the bike charity where I work as a volunteer we've only got a handful of spokes taken from bikes that have been broken up for the parts. I'm envious! Have you got anyone that builds wheels? If you're going to make good use of them you need to measure them and batch them up by length. To do it properly you'll need a spoke measure although you can use a decent ruler but it won't be as accurate as a spoke measure. It sounds like you have a mountain of them. I wish that was the case with our place but sadly it isn't.

Put it this way, I had two big boxes and I had to half empty them before I could move them.

I've got a lot of 1,8mm, 1.8/2.0mm and 2.0mm diameter spokes, and a few of different sizes. Now I'm sorting them by length.

Once that's done I can worry about wheel building. I've built a couple of front wheels, but I'll have to learn a lot now...

All uphill

Still rolling along
You can pick stuff up on the net (YouTube, etc) but if you get the chance to do a wheel building course then go for it. It's a useful skill to have and I find it very rewarding. You'll never get rich building wheels but it's not all about money, eh? 👍

I agree about wheel-building; I love it.